Finkelstein Award

The Finkelstein Award recognizes an individual whose contributions reflect excellence, either through a particular accomplishment or through continuous efforts over time. The Finkelstein family, co-founders of Crohn’s and Colitis Canada, intended this award as a “hug” for a deserving individual who may or may not have been publicly recognized for achievement in the field of Crohn’s and colitis. Award nominees may or may not have held formal office within Crohn’s and Colitis Canada. 

You may nominate an individual for the Finkelstein Award by filling out and submitting the form below.

The deadline for 2023 nominations is August 15, 2023.

Nominate an individual for the Finkelstein Award.



2022      Brenda O'Connor, Toronto, ON
2021      Dr. Derek McKay, Calgary, AB
2020      Grant Mitchell, Winnipeg, MB
2019      The Hughton Family, Saskatoon, SK
2018      The Thompson Family, Toronto, ON
2017      The Fisher Family, Montreal, QC


  • Canada has among the highest incidence rates of Crohn's and colitis in the world.
  • 1 in 140 Canadians lives with Crohn’s or colitis.
  • Families new to Canada are developing these diseases for the first time.
  • Incidence of Crohn’s in Canadian kids under 10 has doubled since 1995.
  • People are most commonly diagnosed before age 30.

Other Areas of Interest