IBD Nurse of the Year Award

The Outstanding IBD Nurse of the Year Award recognizes a nurse who has made exceptional contributions to the clinical care of patients with Crohn’s disease or ulcerative colitis. In addition, the recipient is acknowledged by patients and families as a caring and dedicated healthcare provider who has made a substantial impact to the delivery of clinical care of Crohn’s and colitis patients. This award celebrates those specialists who have displayed a steadfast commitment to their patients, serving as both nurse and patient advocate, often beyond normal “office” hours. 

Nominate an individual for the 2024 IBD Nurse of the Year award.

The deadline for nominations is July 15 by 5:00 pm ET.

Download poster to promote this award

Nurse of the Year poster


2023       Amanda Swain, Vancouver, BC
2022       Heather Bélanger, Ottawa, ON
2021       Kelly Chavez, Montreal, QC
2020       Krista Uusoue, Toronto ON
2019       Barbara Currie, Halifax, NS
2018       Joan Heatherington, Calgary, AB

  • Canada has among the highest incidence rates of Crohn's and colitis in the world.
  • 1 in 140 Canadians lives with Crohn’s or colitis.
  • Families new to Canada are developing these diseases for the first time.
  • Incidence of Crohn’s in Canadian kids under 10 has doubled since 1995.
  • People are most commonly diagnosed before age 30.

Other Areas of Interest