Physician of the Year Award

The Physician of the Year Award recognizes a physician who has made exceptional contributions to the clinical care of patients with Crohn’s disease or ulcerative colitis. In addition, the recipient is acknowledged by patients and families as a caring and dedicated healthcare provider who has made a substantial impact to the delivery of clinical care of Crohn’s and colitis patients. This award celebrates those specialists who have displayed a steadfast commitment to their patients, serving as both physician and patient advocate, often beyond normal “office” hours. 

Nominate an individual for the 2024 Physician of the year award.

The deadline for nominations has now been extended from July 15 by 5:00 pm ET to July 29, 5:00 pm ET. 

Download poster to promote this award
Physician of the Year poster

2023      Dr. Farhad Peerani, Edmonton, AB
2022      Dr. Adam Weizman, Toronto, ON
2021      Dr. Premysl Bercik, Hamilton, ON
2020      Dr. Remo Panaccione, Calgary, AB
2019      Dr. Kerri Novak, Calgary, AB
2018      Dr. Ian Epstein, Halifax, NS
2017      Dr. Jennifer Jones, Halifax, NS
2016      Dr. Tony Otley, Halifax, NS

  • Canada has among the highest incidence rates of Crohn's and colitis in the world.
  • 1 in 140 Canadians lives with Crohn’s or colitis.
  • Families new to Canada are developing these diseases for the first time.
  • Incidence of Crohn’s in Canadian kids under 10 has doubled since 1995.
  • People are most commonly diagnosed before age 30.

Other Areas of Interest