Help celebrate exceptional contributions for those with Crohn’s or colitis

Research nominations now open text on a background of last year

February 15, 2024 – Award nominations are now open to recognize the dedication of researchers and clinicians across Canada who help those with Crohn’s and colitis. These awards honour leaders and role models who are making a difference in research and care through their creativity, innovation and leadership.

2023 Research Award Winners

2023 winners at the Meeting of the Minds Conference (from left to right): Dr. Yasmin Nasser, Dr. Heather Armstrong, Dr. Farhad Peerani, Amanda Swain

The six awards are: 

  1. In partnership with Pfizer Canada – the Women in IBD, valued at $20,000
  2. In partnership with Pfizer Canada – Advancing Diversity, Equity and Inclusion (DEI) in IBD (a new award in 2024), valued at $20,000 
  3. Rising Star in research
  4. Research Leadership
  5. Physician of the Year
  6. Nurse of the Year

The first four awards are for researchers who are nominated by their peers. The recipients drive impactful research that brings us closer to a cure and improves the quality of life for people affected by Crohn’s or colitis.

The last two awards are for healthcare professionals and are nominated by members of the public. They are recognized for their exceptional contributions to patient care. They are celebrated for displaying a steadfast commitment to those in their care, often beyond normal office hours.

The deadline for submissions for all the awards is July 15, 2024, at 5:00 p.m. ET.

The award winners will be announced during the annual Meeting of the Minds Conference, November 8-9, 2024.

  • Canada has among the highest incidence rates of Crohn's and colitis in the world.
  • 1 in 140 Canadians lives with Crohn’s or colitis.
  • Families new to Canada are developing these diseases for the first time.
  • Incidence of Crohn’s in Canadian kids under 10 has doubled since 1995.
  • People are most commonly diagnosed before age 30.

Other Areas of Interest